• Home
  • Dr. Jay Johnson receives ACLS 2014 Collaborative Research Fellowship

Dr. Jay Johnson receives ACLS 2014 Collaborative Research Fellowship

Monday, February 24, 2014

The American Council of Learned Societies is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Collaborative Research Fellowships. The eight teams of scholars that were selected for funding cross boundaries of discipline, methodology, and geography to undertake new research projects that will result in joint publications. The program, which is made possible by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, aims to demonstrate the creative potential of collaborative research in the humanities and related social sciences.

“The 2014 ACLS Collaborative Research Fellows put on display the wide range of collaborative projects that scholars pursue in the humanities and related social sciences today,” said ACLS Program Officer Matthew Goldfeder. “The program will support some joint projects that are possible only due to the different specializations each collaborator brings to the project, and others where team members will work to synthesize viewpoints and explanations across disparate fields.”

The diversity of this year’s collaborations includes projects that combine deep expertise in fields such as linguistics, geography, history, literature, and visual studies. That diversity also extends to modes of dissemination, with several of this year’s collaborations foreseeing both print and digital outcomes.

Focusing on place-based struggles in British Columbia, New Zealand, and Kansas, geographers Jay T. Johnson (Associate Professor, University of Kansas) and Soren C. Larsen (Associate Professor, University of Missouri) will co-author a book exploring how the ongoing tensions between Indigenous groups and non-Indigenous communities and governments are transforming the places and politics of settler states in the twenty-first century.

More information on the ACLS Collarorative Research Fellowships

Department of Geography and Atmospheric Science Events
2019 GPRM-AAG Annual Meeting